The Fixer

You know what the Fixer can’t fix? The color scheme of his costume. Blue and green…? Mmmm, those colors go together like peanut butter and tunafish. Even the Hulk had the decency to go with green and purple.

Nothing like a mild character assassination to build interest in a figure you’re about to devote a column to, eh? Let’s fix that…


Better known these days as Techno from the Thunderbolts, Norbert Ebersol’s early claim to fame was as the super genius Fixer, gadget-maker extraordinaire and former Master of Evil. He’s like MacGyver, but with a mean streak and a poor fashion sense.

Normally I’d go right into side and back views of the figure, but as I’m writing this I’m thinking most people aren’t familiar with this version of the character, back from when he’d hang with the Masters of Evil. So, in an effort to convey the evil mastermindness that is the Fixer, let’s take a quick look at him in action doing what he does best…

That’d be a pretty awkward f*cking moment for Absorbing Man to walk in. Or maybe not, him being an ex-con and all.

Moving on…

Half the time our boy Norbert here was drawn with a more boxy harness, kinda like the cardboard robot costume you made back in third grade. Trouble is that wasn’t the reference I pulled when I put this guy together at the request of a friend. I wish I had…the square vest/harness look is a bit corny, but at least it’s different from the standard “guy with vest” theme. Ah well, maybe I’ll revisit this fig and make a box version one day.

Ingredients: Fixer’s body came courtesy of Lobster Johnson (IndyClix), his pistol from an A.I.M. Agent (Clobberin’ Time) and his vest is a piece of index card hardened with Krazy Glue. Assorted gadgety stuff (holsters, pouches, tubes, etc.) were swiped from military figures (mostly S.H.I.E.L.D. agents) and small bits of chopped Mech Warrior ‘Clix. A coat of acrylic paint, some matte finish spray and he’s off to the races. Custom Fixer dial here.

I love the sculpt on that Wrecker figure. I can’t decide if he looks crazy pissed and ready to smash or crazy happy that he’s about to smash.

Wow, not much in the way of Fixer anything out there on the interwebs. Normally I post some custom action figures, fan art or cosplay stuff, but my internet search came up with the big donut for my boy Norbert. There was this YouTube video, but…I don’t get it.

What I did find out is that there’s a band called “Mentallo & the Fixer.” Crazy, right? More info on them here.

One Response

  1. As an aside, this is the first post in a month where I actually remembered all the parts the custom was made from.

    It’s today’s small victory.

Leave a comment