The Melter

Ah yes, a supervillain from the era of comics where badguys were direct and to the point with their intentions. The Wrecker? He wrecked things. The Collector? He collected things. The Melter? He…actually, he “loosened the bond between molecules,” so it wasn’t technically melting. Eh, close enough so it counts and—unlike some supervillains—it’s an easy enough power to explain. I still have no idea what Mr. Sinister does.

Anyway, the Melter. A friend asked me to whip one up for our gaming group so I did some digging for costume reference. I was familiar with the character–he was an okay Iron Man villain–but not so much that I could do his outfit from memory. “He looks like the Living Laser, just oranger.” Some poking around online and HOLY SH*T, HAVE YOU EVER SEEN THE MELTER’S ORIGINAL COSTUME?!?

…dear God, he could be the spokesman for crazy in that outfit. Props to Shellhead in that pic, tho. Even with a full-head helmet he looks completely freaked out. And kinda badass. He should think about a suit of sleeveless armor, show off them muscles. “Hey Madame Masque, you like dogs, right?” *flexes* “Then check out THESE bitches!” How am I not writing an Iron Man monthly? Anyway, the custom Melter…

Always wear protective goggles, insulated gloves and striped pants when melting.

Ingredients: The Melter started life as a Wrecker Heroclix (Ultimates) with small bits of index card paper–hardened by Krazy Glue–used for minor detailing (shoulder pads, stripes on his pants, etc.)…

…his noggin came courtesy the Intergang Medic (Hypertime) and the chest harness from…ah, crap. Back when I was working on customs every week I could pretty much eyeball any mod and decode ‘em, but I’m outta practice. Is that the chest harness from the U-Men (Mutant Mayhem)? Eh, if you can figure it out, drop some knowledge in the comments section at bottom. Some acrylic paint, a light spritz of matte and Johnny Stripedpants was in the books. Custom Melter dial here.

That ice cream truck is going to put itself out in the most delicious way imaginable.

Not too much in the way of Melter stuff out there in the web. Here’s a pretty slick custom Marvel Legend Melter (I think that’s an ML). He’s in the list of supervillains on the right of that website. BONUS: here’s the Melter pantsing Iron Man.

15 Responses

  1. I mentioned over at HCRealms.com that I’ll get back to posting custom dials in a couple of weeks.

    Aside from being in the middle of overhauling the dials on all my ‘Clix, I’m knee-deep in a move. As soon as I’m settled, some dial-heavy posts will rear their heads.

  2. Good choice for an update…you know I love obscure villains with ridiculous costumes and names that end in “er”.

    My only beef? You used the terrible “modern” Iron Man again. Don’t you have a custom of the 70’s armor somewhere?

    Oh, and doesn’t Melter hit for 4 with psychic blast a/k/a “Melt Your Face” or something ridiculous like that? I remember every time we’ve played with him he’s either destroyed somebody immediately or was destroyed immediately due to his dangerousnessism.

  3. Yeah, there’s a buttload of Iron Man HeroClix, but not really a good classic ’70s version. The one you’re talking about–the custom I made–was one of my earliest attempts at modding and…he wasn’t great. He was banished to the scrap box years ago. I’ve been meaning to get around to making a new one.

    As f’r the Melter, his dial is nuts. I originally gave him a Klaw dial (Infinity Challenge), but that didn’t feel right. The v2 dial (long range expert + psychic blast) is a beast. Maybe too much so. I’ve found a new, more balanced way to represent his power, but haven’t built the new dial yet.

    Still no cure for striped pants.

  4. When the F*CK did we get ice cream?

  5. Those pants alone are worth the price of admission. And I think you just found your next Halloween costume…

    • Ahhhh, the heady days of giant Halloween costume parties and going as a comic book-themed group. I miss those days. Our Avengers gang was awesome…Quicksilver, Ant Man, Wasp, Vision, baby blue Captain America, Mantis, Wonder Man and Hawkeye. ‘Earth’s Mightiest Keg Stands!’

      If we had ever gone with an “Iron Man villain’ theme…? Man, that would have been a who’s who of “who are you?” The Melter, Whiplash, Firebrand, Unicorn, Spymaster, the Ghost, Titanium Man…hmmm, I think I woulda gone as either the Blizzard or Killer Shrike.

      ROOM: “Yo, Killer Shrike…quit bogarting the dip.”

      ME: “TO THE *hic* TO THE DEATH!” [climbs into dishwasher, pulls it closed]

  6. I posted this recent Melter shot a few months back.

    • Is that scene from an “untold tales”-type story from back before the original Melter ate a bullet or is that the new Melter?

      • It’s from the Marvel Adventures line, so it’s not really in any sort of continuity. I believe they allude to it being a second Melter, but I don’t have the book in front of me.

  7. Brad Meltzer should write a Melter story. Everyone would read “Melter” by Meltzer.

    It sounds funny when you say it out loud to yourself… I promise.

  8. And the story would be called “Helter Skelter.”

    “Brad Meltzer presents the Melter in Helter Skelter’.”

    Who would draw it?

  9. …Mr. & Mrs. Meltzer named one of their kids “Feltzer?”

    Yeah, okay, I can see that.

    “Brad and Feltzer Meltzer present the Melter in ‘Helter Skelter’.”

    We just need Alka-Seltzer to sign off as the sponsor and we’re set.

    This thing’s gonna sell itself.

Leave a comment