The Rattler

The Rattler, a member of the awesomely underrated Serpent Society and, if I’m not mistaken, Charlie Murphy’s alter ego. I can’t be the only one who sees the resemblance…

What did the five fingers say to the supervillain?

…right?

No? Maybe if I photoshopped a little cigarette in the Rattler’s mouth. And gave him a loud shirt. And had Prince dunk on him.

Anyway, on to the custom Rattler Heroclix…

Ingredients: Base body is a Wrecker (Ultimates) with the crowbar sliced off. His tail is…I just noticed that his tail kind of looks like a sock puppet peeking up over his shoulder. Are there any sock puppet themed supervillains? Nobody steal that idea, it’s mine.

Rattler’s tail was lifted from a Scorpion (Xplosion). Costume trimmings like boots and his catcher’s vest are all strips of index card held in place with a pinprick of Elmer’s and hardened with Krazy Glue. Acrylic paint, a PFFFT! of matte sealant and Charlie Murphy is in the books. Custom Rattler Heroclix dial here.

I think he came out okay, though his boots should have had that same layered scale effect as his chest. I built him years ago in a one-night modding frenzy along with Cottonmouth, Bushmaster and Deathadder (below). My gaming group was hooking up the following day and I wanted to stomp everyone with the Serpent Society. The customs were finished in time and, true to form, I had my butt handed to me. I can–with two dice–consistently roll under four better than anyone.

So in the early days of ‘Clix–back when there were only a handful of sets–my modding mentality was “more is more.” Instead of taking my time with each custom I’d crank ’em out as fast as possible. Not a terribly conducive way to create good, clean-looking mods. Nowadays I don’t have the time to customize all that often, but when I do, I take my time. Some of my more recent work here.

Some random Serpent Society from around the web:

Custom Marvel Legends-style Rattler (scroll down the page a bit), a Marvel Legends Anaconda and a look at why Deathadder is the coolest member of the Serpent Society .

6 Responses

  1. Wow! At last, Serpent Society mods! What dial you use for that Polish boy, Pat? Still better, can you make a post about all of them?(I saw your Death Adder months ago, and have no idea about his body, tail and legs/arms. And the dial would be cool, too)
    Thanks!

    • Anybody whose down with the Serpent Society is good in my book.

      *chest bumps Davies*

      Let’s go kick the crap out of Constrictor for turning down membership!

      Anyway, thanks for the kind words, m’man. As f’r the Rattler’s stats, I gotta get some clean dial photos of the last few figures I’ve featured here on the blog and post ’em. I’ve been slacking!

      The Rattler has a custom dial that plays up that magic maraca tail of his…I’ll post it in the next couple of days, honest.

      As for the other Serpent Society guys, I built ’em years ago during a 24-hour modding frenzy and I’m not super thrilled with how they came out. They–along with Tiger Shark–are on the short list of custom figures I wanna redo.

      As for Deathadder, yeah, he’s the best ‘Society member ever, even if he did get shot to death in a taxi. 😦

      Deathadder Ingredients
      Base body is a Skrull Infiltrator (SuperNova), hands are Sabretooth (Infinity Challenge), head is an Ultimate Electro (Ultimates) and the tail came courtesy of a Fire Salamander (Mage Knight).
      Costume trimmings are bits of index card held in place with an impossibly small dab of Elmer’s and hardened with Krazy Glue.
      That big honkin’ fin on his back is a piece of index card three sheets-thick that follows that same Elmer’s/Krazy Glue trick.
      Acrylic paint & matte sealant took it home.

      I totally forgot Deathadder’s weird mouth/snout thing when putting him together.

      *turns in honorary Serpent Society membership card*

      sigh

  2. Sock puppet villains? One Ton and Handy.

    • …I haven’t been this outraged since I learned I wasn’t the first one to come up with a carpet-themed superhero.

  3. Mmmm…yes, I like your dial. Specially the Defense 16 and the powers. The white power is also original, and give a good idea about a guy who gives problems to the Old Cap more than one time. Maybe a slightly strong, but my own Serpent Society dials are too weak (I need to remake them) and Rattler is a “heavy hitter” in the Snakes Gang.
    Now, more Society members, please!!
    Gracias!

    • I tried walking the line with his dial, y’know? Strong enough so he can take a shot without becoming useless but weak enough so his point value is (sorta) low…that way you can take a bunch of ‘Squad members for your team without breaking the bank.

Leave a comment